What to read next: Shadow and Bone Books

Shadow and Bone Books

I love getting into a book. I am able to totally focus, tune out all of the thoughts that run in circles in my brain, and enjoy a story. Recently, I got into the series of Shadow and Bone books…I couldn’t put them down, so I have to recommend them to you!

I try to read books that help me learn something, but honestly, getting lost in a story is better than a self-help book in so many different ways. Here’s my latest book obsession…

Shadow & Bone Books, in order

The author, Leigh Bardugo, has created an intriguing world that seems almost historic. Grisha have powers based in science, and are hunted as witches in some countries and treated like superheroes in other countries. The themes of prejudice and bias and faith are filtered in the storylines in a fascinating way. The characters are relatable, the dialogue clever, and the stories so intriguing I’ve been unable to put them down because I want to know what happens next!!

Grisha books, in order:

  1. Start with the Shadow & Bone Trilogy, which include Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising.
  2. Then, read the Six of Crows Duology, which includes Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom.
  3. Finally, the latest is the Nikolai Duology. King of Stars is first, and Rule of Wolves will be out at the end of March.

All of the books take place in the Grisha world, but the different series focus on different characters’ stories. Characters cross over and each of the series follow the same timeline. I’ve never read anything like it. Commonsense media recommends these books for 13+… so definitely a teen series but they are so good!

And I can’t wait to see the Netflix series, coming out in April!

Leave a comment